Diego Forlan

Today, During a press conference Diego Forlan will bid adieu to his boyhood club Peñarol.

AS we said before that Atlético de Kolkata are in talk with the Uruguayan Legend Diego Forlan.

And we hope that soon ATK will be announcing him as their Marquee player. The deal took place cause of Forlan’s relation with Atlético de Madrid.

It will give a huge boost to the Crowd of City of Joy as well as the passionate fans of India.

Last year Hélder Postiga couldn’t deliver good results cause of his injury on the opening day of Indian Super League Season 2.But he scored 2 goals before leaving the Pitch.

Peñarol lifted their 50th Uruguayan league crown on Sunday when Diego Forlan‘s side came back from a goal down against small town club Plaza Colonia for a 3-1 extra-time victory in the title playoff.

Colonia were being hailed as Uruguay’s answer to English Premier League champions Leicester City after winning the Clausura championship, second of two in the season, last month in their first season back in the top flight.

That win earned Colonia the right to face Apertura champions Penarol, one of Uruguay’s so-called Big Two clubs along with 2014/15 champions Nacional, for the title at Montevideo’s Centenario Stadium.

Colonia took the lead through midfielder Alejandro Furia in the 69th minute but young forward Diego Rossi equalised 10 minutes later from Colombian Miguel Angel Murillo’s cross, sending the match into extra time.

The tide turned Penarol’s way in the 108th minute when Plaza had defender German Ferreira sent off.

A minute later Penarol took the lead with a header by Maximiliano Olivera from a corner by former Uruguay captain Forlan and Mauricio Affonso made the result safe for Penarol in the 112th.

Last night ATK’s co owner Mr.Sanjiv Goenka announced the confirmed team list so far.
And they are the followings.

1 Hume (FW)

2 Doutie(MF) ✈
3 Nato
(MF) ✈
4 Debjit
5 P.Kotal
6 Bidyananada
7 Tiri
(DF) ✈
8 Arnab
9 Jewel Raja
10 Bikas Jairu
11 Lalrindika
12 Robert
13 Shilton Pal
14 Prabir Das
15 Kegan Pereira
16 Bikramjit Singh (MF)
17  Kingshuk Debnath (DF)